Wind Turbine on Campus


Indiana Tech is committed to sustainability and environmental responsibility. The university’s Sustainability Council brings faculty, staff, and students together to consider programs, policies, and projects related to conservation of energy and other resources. In August 2017, Indiana Tech received the 3R Award for non-profits from the Allen County Solid Waste Management District for it’s waste reduction efforts.

Follow us on Facebook to learn more about upcoming events and initiatives on campus!

Our sustainability initiatives include:

  • offering a Bachelor of Science in Energy Engineering.
  • a fully operation wind turbine with data collection.
  • On-site food waste compost with more than 100 pounds collected from March- September 2017
  • All disposable cutlery, plates and bowls used through the on campus catering service are now made from 100% compostable materials.
  • battery recycling offered in every building on campus
  • recieved LEED® Gold certification for the renovation of the Wilfred Uytengsu, Sr. Center.
  • promoting an extensive, campus-wide recycling program.
  • founding member of the Northeast Indiana Sustainable Business Council (NISBC), whose mission “is to advance sustainability practices by the business sector through education and certification in collaboration with nonprofit, business, government and education organizations.”
  • taking part in an Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) peer audit program, which takes a proactive approach for universities to meet requirements set by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Indiana Tech has fully implemented the Environmental Management System plan, which is based on ISO 140001 Model of Continual Improvement.
  • using disposable dinnerware from sustainable sources only.
  • MS4 (Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System) co-permittee with the City of Fort Wayne, Saint Francis University, IPFW and Ivy Tech.
  • Material Safety Data Sheet
  • New trash cans on campus are made with recycled milk jugs.

Sustainability Council Members


Bonnie Wilkins, Associate Professor and Director of Health Information Technology

Justin Elder, Buildings and Grounds

John Renie, College of Engineering 

Bradley Shank, College of Engineering

Julie Farison, Marketing